E-commerce sales worldwide set to increase by 50% by 2025, reaching 7.5 trillion dollars.

15 June, 2022

E-Commerce

In 2021, retail e-commerce sales amounted to approximately 4.9 trillion U.S. dollars worldwide. This figure is forecast to grow by 50 percent over the next four years, reaching about 7.4 trillion dollars by 2025.

Conditions across the globe continue to nourish the thriving e-commerce market. Technological developments, a burgeoning middle class in developing countries, and improved infrastructure and internet connectivity are just some of the factors which serve to provide a very stable foundation for the sector.

Meanwhile, the impact of social media and digital advertising are changing the rules of the game. Plus, consumers are driving demand for sustainability, inclusivity, and ethical practice. For e-commerce businesses that can act swiftly, engage audiences through digital channels, and leverage tech to drive efficiency, the future looks very bright indeed.

These are all trends that has only been accelerated by the COVID-19 pandemic that closed brick-and-mortar stores worldwide and saw millions shopping online for the first time. These newbies are now digital converts, convinced by the convenience that online shopping provides.

As in 2020, Asia-Pacific and North America will lead the regional rankings for retail e-commerce sales this year. China’s outsize role will mean that Asia-Pacific will account for 60.8% of retail e-commerce sales worldwide in 2021. North America will claim a 20.3% share, and Western Europe 12.6%. (Insider Intelligence). The e-commerce market in South-East Asia is growing at a significant rate. In particular, Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, and Vietnam where demand for both e-commerce and m-commerce is on a huge growth trajectory and poised to be one of the fastest-growing markets in the world.

What does this growth mean for your e-commerce business?

This will depend on the sector that you’re in, but the opportunity to benefit form cross-border shopping is great for most stores.

However, you will need the capability to localise your website for each international market. This includes language, currency, payments, affordable and familiar delivery options and convenient returns. Plus the sales channels and promotional platforms in Asia in particular are not the same as in the western world.

Getting the delivery offering right can provide a quick win, as there will likely be many people abroad that speak your native language, are happy to pay by card, and accept they’ll need to cover duties and taxes. However to maximise the opportunity you will need to invest in technology, marketplaces and promotion.

Find out more in The e-commerce Market Handbook 2022.

 

Related Asendia Insights
08/08/2022

Asendia USA announces joint venture with Broad Reach to further expand…

PHILADELPHIA, PA — July 27, 2022 — Asendia USA is pleased to announce a joint venture with Broad Reach and Dave Mays to further strengthen and expand its…

05/08/2022

What’s behind Thailand’s e-commerce revolution?

The Asia Pacific (APAC) region, which includes Southeast Asia and Oceania, is justifiably attracting the attention of savvy e-commerce brands from around…

26/07/2022

Singapore’s e-commerce consumers: 5 insights for cross-border growth

Small in size but mighty in economic terms, Singapore is one APAC’s most lucrative territories for ambitious online retailers. If you are interested in…

到 2025 年,全球电子商务销售额将增长 50%,达到 7.5 万亿美元

20 June, 2022

電子商務 目的地国 电子商务 电子书

2021年,全球零售电子商务销售额约为4.9万亿美元。预计这一数字在未来四年将增长 50%,到 2025 年将达到约 7.4 万亿美元。

全球各地的情况继续滋养着电子商务市场蓬勃发展。随着技术发展、发展中国家新兴的中产阶级以及基础设施和互联网连接的改善,都是为该行业提供非常稳定基础的一部分因素。

与此同时,社交媒体和数字广告的影响正在改变游戏规则。此外,消费者正在推动对可持续性、包容性和道德实践的需求。对于能够迅速采取行动、通过数字渠道吸引受众并利用技术提高效率的电子商务企业,未来看起来确实非常光明。

这些趋势仅因 COVID-19 大流行而加速,全球实体店关闭,数百万人首次在线购物。这些新手现在是在线购物者,被网上购物提供的便利所折服。

2020 年一样,亚太地区和北美将在今年的零售电子商务销售额区域排名中领先。中国的巨大作用将意味着2021年亚太地区占全球零售电子商务销售额的 60.8%。北美将占据 20.3% 的份额,西欧将占据 12.6% (内幕情报)。东南亚的电子商务市场正在以显着的速度增长。尤其是新加坡、马来西亚、泰国和越南,对电子商务和移动商务的需求增长巨大,并有望成为世界上增长最快的市场之一。

这种增长对您的电子商务业务意味着什么?

这取决于您所在的行业,但从宽购物中受益的机会对大多数商店来说都是很好的。

但是,您需要使您的网站针对每个国际市场进行本地化,这包括语言、货币、付款方式、负担得起且熟悉的交付选项以及方便的退货。另外亚洲的销售渠道和促销平台与西方世界不同。

提供正确的送货服务可以快速取胜,因为在国外可能会有很多人说母语,乐于用卡付款,并接受他们需要支付关税和税款。然而,为了最大限度地利用机会,您需要在技术、市场和促销方面进行投资。

点击此链接发现更多 The e-commerce Market Handbook 2022.