Singapore’s e-commerce consumers: 5 insights for cross-border growth

26 July, 2022

E-Commerce France E-Commerce Destinations Online Retail

Small in size but mighty in economic terms, Singapore is one APAC’s most lucrative territories for ambitious online retailers. If you are interested in expanding your e-commerce brand on this Southeast Asian island, you can discover more about its consumers’ habits here.

Following its independent sovereignty in 1965, international trade and rapid industrialisation allowed the island nation of Singapore to establish itself as one of the ‘Four Asian Tigers’ along with fellow economic powerhouses Hong Kong, South Korea and Taiwan.

Attracted by minimal trade barriers and tariffs, foreign investment has flooded into Singapore for decades and today the country boasts the second highest relative GDP per capita in the world. It is no surprise therefore that this hub for shipping and aviation is a priority focal-point for e-commerce brands looking to expand into the fast-growing APAC (Asia Pacific) region.

But to succeed in Singapore, retailers need to develop a solid understanding of Singaporean shoppers. Here, we reveal a selection of must-know facts that can help you do just that.

Singaporean shoppers are digitally savvy

With 84% internet penetration and the fastest network speeds on the planet, there are very few barriers to digital adoption for Singaporean shoppers. 67.2% of the population are predicted to engage in e-commerce by 2025 (Statista) and, of those already buying online, 60% purchase at least one or more products each month (Ipsos).

Online shoppers in Singapore love to buy cross border

A PayPal report published in 2021 states that an incredible 78% of Singaporean e-commerce users purchase from international websites. The same report claims that 56% shop cross-border to find better deals, 45% to acquire items that are not available locally, while 37% do so to discover new and interesting products.

Flexible payment options are important to e-commerce consumers in Singapore

Research shows that if you want to appeal to Singaporean consumers, a wide range of payment options at check out are essential. Local shoppers show a preference for cashless transactions with 63.3% paying on card and another 16.5% using alternative electronic methods. Although mobile banking apps are undergoing rapid adoption in the region, many shoppers still opt for traditional methods, with a 11.3% choosing to pay in cash.

Singapore’s e-commerce market is strongly linked to social media

If you want to boost sales for your retail brand in Singapore then you would do well to focus on how you implement social media. A whopping 79% of Singaporeans are active social media users (Hootsuite/We Are Social) and figures suggest that engaging with these consumers on their preferred platforms could encourage them to spend between 20 and 40% more on your brand.

Customer experience is crucial for Singapore’s e-commerce consumers

34% of online shoppers in Singapore will complain if something goes wrong or if a product is received that does not meet their expectations. However, by the same token, Singaporean consumers are likely to sing your brand’s praises if you deliver great service. Research suggests that an impressive 75% will leave a positive review if they receive quick delivery of their order (Hootsuite/We Are Social).

Grow your e-commerce business in Singapore with Asendia

If you’re keen to learn more about Singapore’s e-commerce market, Asendia can help. We are experts in global e-commerce logistics, have strong partnerships with the region’s leading last mile delivery companies, possess a state-of-the-art logistics centre on the island and provide a range of products to meet the needs of you and your customers.

Our e-book, Why is Singapore a top international e-commerce destination? is free to download and contains more insights and guidance on this promising market. Read it today.

 

Singapore CTA

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  

Related Asendia Insights
23/09/2022

What's happening in the French e-commerce market? (Get the full report…

As part of the research for their French e-commerce retail sector report, RetailX spoke with Arnaud Lorant, Asendia’s Head of e-commerce Market…

09/09/2022

Europe 2022: E-commerce Report

As part of our partnership with RetailX, Asendia is pleased to offer you a free copy of the latest Europe E-Commerce Report.

Wherever in Europe you’re…

30/08/2022

E-commerce in Oceania: what’s driving sales in New Zealand and Australia?

Within the Asia Pacific (APAC) region, there are a number e-commerce markets performing exceptionally well. In many cases, for example in Vietnam,…

新加坡的电子商务消费者: 跨境增长的5个见解

29 July, 2022

電子商務

新加坡国土面积虽然小,但经济实力强大,是亚太地区雄心勃勃的在线零售商最赚钱的地区之一。如果您有兴趣在这个东南亚岛屿上扩展您的电子商务品牌,您可以在这里了解更多关于其消费者习惯的信息。

新加坡在 1965 年独立后,由于国际贸易和快速工业化发展,使这个岛国与香港、韩国和台湾一起被称为“亚洲四小龙”。

几十年来,由于受到最低贸易壁垒和关税的吸引,大量外国投资涌入新加坡,如今,该国拥有世界第二高的人均 GDP。因此,作为东南亚的航运和航空枢纽,新加坡成为寻求扩展业务到快速增长的亚太地区的电子商务品牌优先选择,也就不足为奇了。

但要在新加坡取得成功,零售商需要深入了解新加坡购物者。在这里,我们揭示了一些可以帮助您做到这一点的必知事实。

新加坡的消费者精通数字技术

凭借 84% 的互联网普及率和全球最快的网速,新加坡购物者在使用数字技术方面几乎没有障碍。预计到 2025 年将有 67.2% 的人口将参与到电子商务相关中(Statista),在已经习惯线上购物的消费者中,60% 的人每月至少购买一种或多种产品(ipsos)。

新加坡消费者喜欢跨境购物

一份PayPal 报告2020年发布并指出, 78% 的新加坡电子商务用户从国际网站购物,这简直令人难以置信 。同一份报告称,56% 的人跨境购物是为了寻找更优惠的价格,45% 的人购买当地没有的商品,而 37% 的人这样做是为了发现新的有趣的产品。

灵活的支付方式对新加坡的电子商务消费者很重要

研究表明,如果您想吸引新加坡消费者,结账时提供多种付款方式是必不可少的。当地购物者偏好无现金交易,其中 63.3% 使用银行卡支付,另外 16.5% 使用其他电子方式。尽管移动银行应用程序在该地区迅速普及,但许多购物者仍选择传统方式,11.3% 的消费者选择现金支付。

新加坡的电子商务市场与社交媒体密切相关

如果您想提高您的零售品牌在新加坡的销售额,那么您最好专注于如何利用社交媒体。高达 79% 的新加坡人是活跃的社交媒体用户(例如Hootsuite/We Are Social),数据表明,在这些消费者喜欢的平台上与他们互动可以鼓励他们在您的品牌上多消费 20% 40%的费用

客户体验对新加坡电子商务消费者来说至关重要

如果在购买过程中出现问题或收到的产品不符合他们的期望, 34% 的新加坡在线购物者会抱怨。然而,对于同样的原因,如果您提供优质服务,新加坡消费者可能会为您的品牌赞不绝口。研究表明,如果他们收到速递的订单(Hootsuite/We Are Social),75%的消费者会留下正面评价。

让Asendia帮助您在新加坡发展您的电子商务业务

如果您想了解更多关于新加坡电子商务市场的信息,Asendia 可以提供帮助。我们是全球电子商务物流专家,与该地区领先的最后一公里邮递公司建立了牢固的合作伙伴关系,在新加坡拥有最先进的物流中心,并提供一系列产品来满足您和您顾客的需求。

我们的电子书, 《新加坡为什么是顶级的电子商务目的地?》 可以免费下载,并且包含更多关于这个充满希望的市场的更多见解和指导。 就在今天,准备好了解了吗?

 

CN CTA_Ebook_Asendia_Destination APAC (2)