5 reasons to make Malaysia your brand’s next e-commerce destination

13 July, 2022

E-Commerce France E-Commerce Destinations Online Retail

APAC, the Asia-Pacific region comprising Southeast Asia and Oceania, represents a huge amount of potential for e-commerce brands looking to extend their reach. And not without good reason. Asian markets are growing at an impressive rate of approximately 20% year on year. APAC shoppers love to buy cross-border, particularly to get hold of goods made by Western brands. Plus, many APAC marketplaces charge relatively low fees, making APAC a potentially more cost-effective place to do business than regions such as Europe or North America.

 

If your e-commerce brand is considering APAC as a destination, then you would be wise to focus your attention on Malaysia. Here, we explain five things that make this country one of APAC’s most enticing markets.

  1. Malaysia is the third largest state in the ASEAN union

After Indonesia and Thailand, no other state in the ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) economic union is larger than Malaysia. With a population of almost 33m and a relatively high GDP per capita, more and more foreign merchants are capitalising on a wealth of sales opportunities in the country.

  1. Malaysia’s scope for additional e-commerce market growth

Like so many other regions, Malaysia saw a massive upswing in e-commerce demand during the COVID-19 pandemic. The good news for online retailers is that this demand looks set to endure with 92% of newly converted online shoppers intending to continue buying online.

As attitudes and technology evolve, more new customers, especially those living outside of urban areas, will discover e-commerce and its benefits in the coming years. Malaysia’s online economy is forecast to reach an impressive value of US$30 billion by 2025 and in that time the projected compounded annual growth rate (CAGR) of e-commerce is expected to be 17%.

  1. Strong digital uptake in Malaysia

Malaysian consumers are becoming increasingly tech savvy, as evidenced by high usage of platforms such as YouTube (93.7%), WhatsApp (91.9%), Facebook (89.1%) and Instagram (74.7%). This digital engagement presents retailers with a range of effective advertising and sales channels to support growth.

  1. Malaysia’s sound infrastructure

One of the biggest advantages for online retailers selling to Malaysia is the country’s mature and stable infrastructure. The country has the logistics networks needed to deliver smooth customer experiences and, according to figures from Datareportal, internet penetration of 84.2%

  1. Cross-border consumer purchases in Malaysia

Data shows that Malaysian shoppers are comfortable making online purchases from retailers all over the globe. In fact, a surprising 54% majority of Malaysian purchases in 2020 were cross-border. Reasons for this preference include price sensitivity, product availability and a desire for higher-quality items.

Grow your e-commerce business in Malaysia with Asendia

If you’re keen to learn more about the Malaysian e-commerce market, Asendia can help. We are experts in global e-commerce logistics, have strong partnerships with the region’s leading last mile delivery companies and a range of products to meet the needs of you and your customers.

Our e-book, Why is Malaysia an ideal e-commerce destination? is free to download and contains more insights and guidance on this promising market. Read it today.

New call-to-action

 

 

 

 

 

  

  

Related Asendia Insights
23/09/2022

What's happening in the French e-commerce market? (Get the full report…

As part of the research for their French e-commerce retail sector report, RetailX spoke with Arnaud Lorant, Asendia’s Head of e-commerce Market…

09/09/2022

Europe 2022: E-commerce Report

As part of our partnership with RetailX, Asendia is pleased to offer you a free copy of the latest Europe E-Commerce Report.

Wherever in Europe you’re…

30/08/2022

E-commerce in Oceania: what’s driving sales in New Zealand and Australia?

Within the Asia Pacific (APAC) region, there are a number e-commerce markets performing exceptionally well. In many cases, for example in Vietnam,…

5个理由,让马来西亚成为您品牌的下一个电子商务目的地

26 July, 2022

電子商務 目的地国 函件 电子商务

亚太地区是由东南亚和大洋洲组成,对于希望扩大影响力的电子商务品牌来说,它具有巨大的潜力,是有充分的理由。亚洲市场正以每年约 20% 的惊人速度增长。亚太地区购物者喜欢跨境购买,尤其是喜欢购买西方品牌的商品。此外,许多亚太地区市场收取相对较低的费用,这使得亚太地区成为比欧洲或北美等地区更具成本效益的经商地点。

如果您的电子商务品牌正在考虑将亚太地区作为目的地,那么您最好将注意力集中在马来西亚。在这里,我们解释了使这个国家成为亚太地区最具吸引力的市场之一的五个理由。

  1. 马来西亚是东盟第三大国家

除了印度尼西亚和泰国,东盟(东南亚国家联盟)经济联盟中没有其他国家的领土比马来西亚更大。拥有近 3300 万人口和相对较高的人均 GDP,越来越多的外国商人正在利用该国的大量销售机会。

     2.马来西亚的电子商务市场有进一步增长的空间

与许多其他地区一样,与许多其他地区一样,马来西亚的电子商务需求在 COVID-19 大流行期间大幅增长。对线上零售商来说,这种需求似乎将持续下去,92% 的新转换线上购物者打算继续在线购物。

随着客户对线上购物的态度转变以及技术的发展,更多的新客户,尤其是居住在城市以外的客户,将在未来几年发现线上购物及其优势。到 2025 年,马来西亚的在线经济预计将达到 300 亿美元,届时电子商务的预计复合年增长率 (CAGR) 预计将达到17%

     3.马来西亚有强大的数字化应用

马来西亚消费者越来越精通科技,YouTube (93.7%)WhatsApp (91.9%)Facebook (89.1%) Instagram (74.7%) 平台高使用率证明了这一点。这种数字参与度有效的为零售商提供销售渠道及进行一系列广告支持增长提供了可能。

      4. 马来西亚完善的基础设施

马来西亚可以提供给在线零售商的最大优势之一是该国成熟稳定的基础设施。该国拥有提供流畅客户体验所需的物流网络,根据 Datareportal 的数据,互联网普及率为 84.2%

      5.马来西亚跨境消费

数据显示 数据显示,马来西亚购物者乐于从网上向全球各地的零售商处进行网上购物。事实上,令人惊讶的是,2020 54%的马来西亚的采购来自于跨境购物。这种偏好的原因包括价格敏感性、产品可用性和对更高质量商品的渴望。

通过Asendia拓展您在马来西亚的电子商务业务

如果您想了解更多关于马来西亚电子商务市场的信息,Asendia 可以提供帮助。我们是全球电子商务物流方面的专家,与该地区领先的最后一公里快递公司建立了牢固的合作伙伴关系,并提供一系列产品来满足您和您的客户的需求。

我们的电子书, 为什么马来西亚是一个理想的电子商务目的地?立即免费下载,了解更多关于这个充满希望的市场的见解和指导。 就在今天阅读它!

CN-Download the ebook - discover Malaysia