Key facts and figures about the Middle East e-commerce market

18 October, 2019

E-Commerce Destinations

The MENA (Middle East and North Africa) region is set to be the next big growth market for e-commerce, with many retailers turning their attention to countries such as Saudi Arabia, the UAE and Egypt.

 

The Middle East at a glance...
  • 22.6m people across the Middle East, with 74% able to access the internet
  • Saudi Arabia: 15.6 million internet users, 3.9 million online shoppers
  • UAE e-commerce revenues expected to reach $4.4billion by 2020, with 60% of shoppers based in Dubai

 

With overall e-commerce growth across the Middle East and Africa expected to reach 11% by 2020, and the ME market soon to be valued at around $69 billion USD, there’s no better time to consider expanding your business into the Gulf region and beyond..

 

So why start selling to shoppers in the Middle East?

Competition

  • There are very few prominent e-commerce marketplaces currently in the Middle East, so while internet penetration in the region is high, many local retailers aren’t fulfilling demand thus driving online shoppers to buy cross-border. Major marketplace Souq.com was acquired by Amazon in 2017, the same year in which Noon.com launched promising to be a “game-changer”. Both sites are large online marketplaces selling vast ranges of products, offering competitive prices and fast delivery; their success in the region shows demand for quality e-commerce sites is high.

Growth

  • Many Middle Eastern governments are investing heavily in infrastructure and digital services to encourage international e-commerce growth in their countries. For example, by promoting a “digital society” the Omani government successfully doubled the number of yearly electronic transactions in 2017, while Bahrain’s Electronic Transactions law protects payments and gives shoppers greater confidence buying online.

Delivery

  • The key to successfully selling to the Middle East is fast and reliable delivery. Many cross-border shoppers in the region want a delivery service they can trust; 21% of Middle Eastern shoppers described delivery issues as a barrier to buying online. Working with trusted local partners is key to countering this.

 

Distribution

ASENDIA AND THE MIDDLE EAST

Our formal sales partnerships with local mail providers such as Israel Post and Oman Post enables Asendia to combine our expertise and global delivery capabilities with the local knowledge of regional carriers.

We have the infrastructure and experience to ensure delivery in the Middle East is fast, reliable and efficient for your customers, as well as being cost-effective for you.

 
 
To find out more about growing your e-commerce business in the Middle East, contact Asendia today.

Request A Quote

 

Related Asendia Insights
15/10/2020

Black Friday 2020: How can e-retailers prepare for a surge in online…

Black Friday 2020 and the following months are set to present e-retailers with real challenges - but also opportunities. With fewer shoppers willing to…

26/08/2020

Is e-commerce thriving during the pandemic?

E-commerce has had one of the biggest impacts on virtually every industry in the last few decades.

13/08/2020

Asendia invests in Asia-Pacific e-commerce technology leader Anchanto

Asendia is now one of the major minority shareholders of Anchanto, a market leader in e-commerce technology in Asia. This significant investment is a…

中东电子商务市场的主要事实和数据

18 October, 2019

目的地国 电子商务

中东和北非地区将成为下一个增长巨大的电商市场,因此,许多零售商将注意力转向沙特阿拉伯、阿联酋和埃及等国家。

中东电商市场概况:

  • 中东拥有2260万人口,当中74%为网络用户

  • 沙特阿拉伯拥有1560万互联网用户,当中有390万曾于网上购物

  • 预计到 2020 年,阿联酋的电子商务收入将达到 44 亿美元,其中 60% 的购物者位于迪拜

 

预计到 2020 年,中东和非洲的电子商务增长率将达到 11%,中东电商市场价值即将达到约690 亿美元。这是一个最好的时机,将您的电商业务扩展至中东地区。

 

为何要开始销往中东市场?

市场竞争

  • 目前,中东地区的电子商务交易平台数量不多,即使该地区的互联网普及率很高,本地零售商却无法满足当地消费者的需求,因而推动了海淘的潮流。亚马逊于2017年收购了电商交易平台Souq.com,同年Noon.com推出,有望改变电商行业的局势。这两个网站都是大型的网购平台,销售产品种类繁多,价格具竞争力,并提供快速的配送服务。他们的成功表明了当地消费者要求的是高质量的电商网站。

增长潜力

  • 许多中东国家的政府都在大力投资基础设施和数码服务,以鼓励本国的国际电子商务发展。例如,通过推广“数码化社会”,阿曼政府在2017年成功将年度电子交易数量翻一番,而巴林的《电子交易法》则保障了网上支付的安全,令消费者在网购时有更大的信心。

配送服务

  • 成功销往中东的关键在于提供快速可靠的配送服务。当地许多跨境消费者都期望使用可信的送货服务。 21%的中东消费者认为送货是网购的一大障碍。与值得信赖的本地合作伙伴合作是解决这一问题的关键。

 

Distribution

ASENDIA与中东

Asendia与以色列邮政和阿曼邮政等本地邮政公司合作,以确保我们的专业知识和全球交付能力与本地物流供应商的经验和知识相结合。

我们拥有基础设施和经验,可确保在中东市场为您的客户提供快速,可靠和高效的配送服务,并为您节省成本。

 

了解更多有关在中东发展电商业务的信息,请立即与联系Asendia。

New call-to-action